my 1960s Americans

Damn Scam

Filed Under Cllents, Web 

This week a web client emailed me asking:
Did all of your clients get this (domain transfer) notification?
I assume it’s legit? I just paid for the five year renewal of the domain name.
Will you handle the transfer or should I?

Well, it was not legit and it makes me furious. The client had received a snail mail letter informing them to transfer their domain name to Domain Registry of America (www.droa.com). It was worded in such a way that they thought it was imperative. Sneaky bastards.

I did a search:
1. This from PCmag.com – http://blogs.pcmag.com/securitywatch/2007/10/beware_of_domain_name_scams_in.php

2. From someone who describes a letter like my client’s: http://trinaallen.wordpress.com/2008/04/11/domain-registry-of-america-scam/

droa.com letter

droa.com letter

3. In trying to explain why the registration WHOIS information is public, I found this:
The problem is two-fold: ICANN (the guys who “overlook all the domain stuff on the Internet”, for lack-of better phrasing) voted in a new rule that states all domain owners _MUST_ have legitimate contact methods shown in their WHOIS records. That is, the owner of the domain must put a legitimate address and telephone number in their WHOIS records.” (from http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/remark,16948194 )
(see UPDATE 4 below) 

I think we are all VERY cautious of any email solicitation but this was postal mail. Please contact me if you receive have any questions about your Domain Name registration or your Internet Service Provider (ISP).

UPDATE 1: Good news. Because the client had paid with a credit card, American Exprress stopped payment and is turning the issue over to their fraud team.

UPDATE 2: AmEx determined that this was not fraud. The lawyers at DROA kept it all within the letter of the law.

UPDATE 3: The client just emailed that someone at DROA called them on the phone to “follow up.” These bottom feeders have some nerve.

UPDATE 4: If your domain is registered and hosted by iXwebhosting.com, you can call their billing department (1-800-385-0450) and ask them to change your WhoIs address information to the iXwebhosting address. This keeps you personal information private but complies with the ICANN regulations.

Comments

3 Responses to “Damn Scam”

  1. Sleep Aid on January 24th, 2011 4:43 pm

    ~;; I am really thankful to this topic because it really gives up to date information .*;

  2. MAGIX Online Welt on May 27th, 2011 5:12 am

    Achtung vor Domain-Betrug…

    Liebe MAGIX Online-Welt Kunden,in letzter Zeit hatten wir mehrmals davon erfahren, dass Webseitenbetreiber mit einer .com-Domain mit einer offiziell anmutenden Mail oder postalisch angeschrieben wurden. In den Schreiben wird ihnen mitgeteilt,…

  3. MAGIX Online World on May 30th, 2011 6:27 am

    Beware of domain update scam…

    Dear MAGIX Online World Customers,we have been repeatedly hearing from customers who received a letter or eMail concerning their .com domain registration, most of the times from a domain registrar called Domain Registry of America (droa.com). In this o…

Leave a Reply




  • RSS icon   mail icon   twitter icon

  • Quotes on Design

    ... loading ...
  • My Delicious

  • Kenneth's bookshelf: read

    The Success and Failure of Picasso
    Berger wrote this while Picasso was still alive. Quite interesting to read why this Marxist critic thinks the communist artist failed.
    Pig Earth
    First in the trilogy and my favorite. He reminds me of Louise Ehrdrich. I wrote and told him so.
    Once in Europa
    The last book in the trilogy. Not my favorite but a worthy conclusion.

    goodreads.com

     

Bad Behavior has blocked 81 access attempts in the last 7 days.